Sewing Project: Spring Dapper Day Dress(es)

If you don’t know anything about Dapper Days at Disney, then here is a little explanation. Its an unofficial event at the Disneyland parks where people get to come in dressed up very nice and hang out. Many people Disneybound, which is taking colors from a favorite Disney character and using them into your outfit. For some, its just a great reason to come into the parks and look great. For others, its a social event. For some of my friends, its a photo shoot waiting to happen. Thankfully, i got to experience all three with good friends.

However, i felt the need to make all of my own things for this weekend. I have a dress form that i received for Christmas and just made the time to sew two different looks. The first look I did in 6 hours. May i mention that it was only possible because my manic tendency was on overdrive and i just couldn’t stop myself from doing it. The second one i took longer with, but i love how the both came out.

So here it is! Look number one was based on my favorite princess, Rapunzel.

And here is look number two, which I based on Mickey Mouse while he was in Steamboat Willie!


I did make both dresses by myself. Each had patterns that I used and bought the fabric from Joann’s. For my shoes, i made them as well from plain shoes i bought for $5 from Michael’s and used fabric paint pens. I am really happy with how they turned out. Next dapper days, which is in the fall, i might make one of the outfits and buy the second. It was a ton of work to do this all in a few days, but i couldn’t be happier with the outcome.

Any ideas of what i should make next? Let me know!

Cheers, Xee

Leave a Reply

